If a client has an existing website on a different server, we develop the new one using a staging account with a URL something like http://staging.yourwebsite.com. It’s only visible to you and people you share the URL with. For extra protection, we can password protect it. Your customers and search engines are not aware of the new site until we go live.

We generally do the same thing with new websites